Sign In Forgot Password

Strategic Planning

Strategic Planning Update

TBH-BE is developing a strategic plan, and we need your help! We want to hear from everyone — members and non-members alike. With Rabbi Witkovsky in the house and new programs on the horizon, we're excited for the future of our community. But we need your feedback to make sure we're headed in the right direction. Here’s how you can help: - Fill out the survey. A confidential survey will be landing in your inbox soon. Keep an eye out — we'll ask for your honest opinions on programs, priorities, and more. - Participate in a focus group. After the survey is complete, we'll follow up with focus groups to dig deeper into the issues that matter most. We will share the key takeaways from the survey and focus groups with the community. Your voice is crucial to the success of the strategic plan, so please, please, PLEASE participate in this process — you'll be helping to shape the future of our shul. Questions? Please reach out to committee co-chairs Jodi Miller  or Len Feldman.

The Co-Chairs have been working closely with Barb Bookman, Josh Kohn, Ken Krivitzky and Rabbi Ethan Witkovsky with regular reports to be given to the Board. Our plan is to have the strategic plan completed by Fall 2023 with budget inputs for Fiscal Year 2024 available as necessary by December 2023.

As we began our process, we explored other synagogue strategic plans and processes for conducting our research. After reviewing strategic planning reports from other synagogues and in consultation with our team of advisors, it was recommended that we move forward with the guidance of an independent consultant. After interviewing several consultants, we selected to move forward with a local consultant, Fernando Chang-Muy; we felt that Fernando was the best fit for our work. 

Our first phase of work currently underway is Assessment and Data Collection. This involves preparing an environmental scan, consisting of scenario planning and research, preparing for focus groups, and developing a survey that will be distributed to the entire congregation. 

Here is a list of committee members: 

Len Feldman, Co-Chair
Jodi Miller, Co-Chair
Jill Cantor-Burns
Anna Caplan
Michael Davidson
Paul Fires
Alex Freedman
Rabbi Chaim Galfand
Stephanie Gantman Kaplan
Rena Kopelman
Ariel Lichtenstein
Juliet Spitzer
Michal Wachs

Caroline Schaeffer Lewis
Beth Rothschild
Laura Solomon
Rabbi Mike Uram

Mon, March 4 2024 24 Adar I 5784