Synagogue e-Highlights for the week of December 22, 2016

12/22/2016 04:59:45 PM


TBH-BE e-Highlights
December 22, 2016 . 29 Kislev 5777

Dear [first_name],

An early Happy Chanukkah and Happy New Year to you! We are excited for two great family events coming up - Rabbi and Lori Cooper will be hosting a Chanukkah movie, sing-a-long and candle lighting for younger kids (3 - 7) on Monday afternoon. After the New Year, there will be a Family Havdalah on Saturday night, January 7. This is a great, relaxed way to start the evening and the kids love it (I speak from experience).  

Next week, the office will be open from Tuesday - Friday (closed December 26 and January 2). After the new year, there are so many great events to check out. See below!

Shabbat Shalom,


Featured Events

Chanukkah Movie and Sing-Along
Monday, December 26

3:30 PM

Sisterhood Family Havdalah
Saturday, January 7
5:30 PM

Men's Club Book Club
Monday, January 9

Food for Thought: 
How to Foster a Positive Body Image in Today's Culture 

Tuesday, Jan 10

Congregation Volunteering at JRA
Sunday, January 15

MLK Day of Service
Monday, January 16


Weekly Friday Services at 6:00pm
Weekly Shabbat Services at 9:30am

Friday, December 23
4:22 PM         Candle Lighting
6:00 PM         Kabbalat Shabbat Services,  Holocaust Memorial Chapel

Saturday, December 24

Chanukkah - 1st Candle

Torah Portion    Vayeshav
     Torah Gen.  37:1 -  40:23       p.  226-245
           Haft. Amos   2:6 - 3:8        p.  246-249
8:45 AM     Mishneh Torah Study Group, Library
9:15  AM     Shabbat Services, Holocaust Memorial Chapel
10:00 AM   Shabbat Babysitting, Room 102
12:00 PM   Congregational Kiddush Lunch Sponsored by Sisterhood and Supported by

                     Saul Wachs in honor of his 85th birthday, Cherry Auditorium 

Click here for a full weekly calendar

News from our Synagogue Family


Mazel Tov to:

Lori and Steve Dabrow on the engagement of their daughter Liza to David Brody.

Condolences to:

Sara Minkoff and Vincent Firth on the loss of their beloved mother Ruth Firth (z"l).

Judith Mont Scarani on the loss of her beloved mother Phoebe Mont (z"l).

Magic Moments
Winter Session 
Sign Up Now! 

Saturday, February 4

Adult Education Retreat 
February 17 - 19

Shul Night Live
Annual Gala

Saturday, February 25

Kosher Certified BBQ Judge Training Class: A Kansas City Barbeque Society sponsored event 
Sunday, June 4
10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Eastern European Trip
This June


Please note that there will be no Pirkei Avot Study Group classes
or Nosh'n Learn until January 3, 2017

Adult Ed

Anti-Israel Media Bias
Sunday, January 8
Sunday, January 22

Rabbi's iEngage Series
Sunday, January 8
Sunday, January 15

Shabbat School
Saturday, January 14
9:15 AM
All classes will resume on
Wednesday, Jan 4
Winter Break
December 26 - January 2
ECC Parents Dodgeball
Saturday, January 21 
   Night at the Museum
   5th Grade Overnight
       January 7 - 8
Fri, March 23 2018 7 Nisan 5778